book reviews, crafts, cheap things…

Fun-a-Day, Day 20!!

I work right by the gem that is known as Unimart, and I decided to give it a try! I dropped in on my break and picked up yet another Crazy Hearts scratcher ticket. First I scratched off the “prize box” section, and saw that if I lined up 3 hearts, the prize would be $500! I immediately knew that I would not win. I scratched off the rest of the ticket, and was indeed a loser.

So I bought  a few “Crazy Hearts” scratchers earlier in the month– and I have been buying Crazy Hearts tickets for the past 3 days. At the beginning of the month, they had relatively low values in the prize box. Now, at the end of the month, the past 3 have had potential values of $100, $100, and $500. I began to wonder– was it a coincidence, or is it planned for potential values to increase as the month goes on?

I decided to do a bit of shoddy research (I have 11 more days to try harder!). I didn’t find an answer, but I did find this interesting project where the blogger bought $100  worth of the same $1 scratcher tickets, and came out $2 richer in the end! I also found this fascinating amount of effort that someone out into a strategy for choosing lotto numbers (pdf file).  And this (whoa). And this.I had no clue that people were so into this stuff!

 

Leave a Reply

