book reviews, crafts, cheap things…

Book review: In a Witch’s Wardrobe by Juliet Blackwell

In a witch's wardrobe

I’ve never been a mystery person. But when I found out that one of my friends who I really respect is an avid mystery reader– I had to give the genre a shot. I got excited when a book list lead me to In a Witch’s Wardrobe— which combines a number of things that I like: Vintage clothing, San Francisco, Fashion, and a witchy theme.

I can’t really say much without giving away the story, but basically San Francisco Bay Area witches are getting sick and killed. Our protagonist Lily Ivory (also a witch) takes it upon herself to try and solve the mystery of what’s going on. Blackwell’s attention to detail surrounding the case is impressive, and the book moves quickly. The story is nestled amongst nice descriptions of the vintage clothing that is sold in Lily’s shop.  It made me want to forgo my regular responsibilities and just read. There are loose ends– but I think the book is part of a series, so it makes sense.

The author has some really solid attention to detail, which I suppose is logical for a mystery novel. Lily’s character could stand a little more dimension (I was hungry for a little more personal information)- but it’s not that big of a deal. It wasn’t the book of the year– but it wouldn’t be bad for a plane ride or lazy afternoon either.

Find a copy here

Leave a Reply

