book reviews, crafts, cheap things…

Book Review Cha-Ching! by Ali Liebegott

Cha-ching!

It had been a long wait since Ali Liebegott’s  previous books, The Beautifully Worthless (2005) and then the Ihop Papers (2007).

Like, really long.

I first heard her read at some event here in san francisco, and have since been very allured to what might just be her signature blend of punch you in the stomach poeticness, honestly, familiar self-loathing, really really good observations and fairly enormous humor. I read her writing like some kind of a secret (but maybe it was spoken a little too loud and those involved forgot to wonder if anyone else could hear).

I guess that this is a really crappy book review for a rather nice book: It was full of stuff I like reading about like queers and gender and a dog and some sex and some addiction and gambling and travel. The story, itself, did not follow certain conventions that I found myself expecting it to follow (a pleasant and disarming surprise). There weren’t typos, and for the most part, the timing was good. I was not disappointed by the writing. The end.

Find a copy at a library or from the publisher (City Lights/ Sister Spit), or on the Sister Spit 2013 Tour.

I’m trying to better feed my local economy and small industry and stuff that I care about, but this time around I totally crapped out and bought the book on amazon. See, there were these seriously awesome shoes that were discounted to $20. and I needed to add at least $5 to my bill to get the free shipping. And this book. I already knew that I was going to buy it. It’s a process.

Leave a Reply

