book reviews, crafts, cheap things…

Book Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

City of bones

The teenagers were checking this book out like crazy at the library– I had to see what was up.

City of Bones is book one in one of the most recent teen fantasy series to become a movie (did I mention that I actually eventually watched the movie of Beautiful Creatures, and I enjoyed it far more than I did the book? I felt like the movie successfully filled a lot of the holes in the book– it still had the culturally problematic “magical black lady” thing going on, but it tastefully eliminated the awfully named character “Marian the Librarian” and fixed a bunch of other problems).

But back to City of Bones! It’s a classic Girl has a normal life with normal problems, girl discovers she’s kinda magic, girl tries to save someone important while kind of being torn between two boys. There’s some unique magic going on, as well as some unique plot twists and subtexts. The gay subtext to certain characters especially one of the (semi-evil ones) is a little weird. Since it’s a teen book, I thought the author could have fleshed it out a little more– leaving things ambiguous allows for the perception of mild homophobia, even though I don’t think that’s what Clare was going for. What the story lacks in literary awesomeness, it makes up for in action and concept. I didn’t actually have critiques of the book until a week after I finished it (a good sign– this book will show you a good time, even if it won’t stay in your heart forever).

The book doesn’t really allow the reader to care much about most of the characters– I don’t know whether this is going to be put to use in the later books in the series.

Find a copy here

Leave a Reply

