book reviews, crafts, cheap things…

Book Review: The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri

The lowland : a novel

A popular choice! The book review world and the internet world were generally pretty excited about this one.

I wasn’t as obsessed with it as I was with some of Lahiri’s other writing, but it was still a pretty sweet book. The beginning was pretty slow for me, but as I got used to unfamiliar names and places and dug further into her characters’ lives, I kept reading (fairly raptly). There are tons of details in this book that don’t all necessarily peak– the text is more about the story than the solution (this would have been obnoxious for me at other parts of my life, but right now I’m ok with the mellowness). But with that said, Lahiri tries to bring some solution into maybe the last 15 or 20% of the book, and it felt a little unnecessary.

But still, it’s a pretty epic book that takes place across oceans and generations. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

