book reviews, crafts, cheap things…

Book Review: How Poetry Saved My Life: A Hustler’s Memoir by Amber Dawn

How poetry saved my life : a hustler's memoir

How Poetry Saved My Life is pretty rad.

For whatever reason, I’m not really in the mood to go into detail today– maybe it’s because I’m at the end of an illness, or maybe it’s because I feel weird dissecting someone’s memoir that pretty much holds itself up.

This is an impressive piece of work, and I’m really happy that I impulse-bought it for sixteen dollars at the local indie bookstore. Framed by sex work, there are three distinct sections: Outside, Inside, and Inward. Outside begins with poems and is about doing sex work on the street. Inside is about the “safer” times of doing sex work for an agency. Inward is distinct and sort of like a conclusion chapter; it’s about all this as well as personal life, relationships, leisure fucking, queer relationship dynamics.

How Poetry Saved My Life: A Hustler’s Memoir is very carefully and gorgeously written, and has a number of sentences that have the kind of architecture that leaves you wondering  how she did it.

buy it or see if your library has it.

Leave a Reply

