book reviews, crafts, cheap things…

I read it: Overdressed: The Shockingly High Cost Of Cheap Fashion

Overdressed : the shockingly high cost of cheap fashion

I read this maybe a month ago and my memory has faded– so I won’t be going into too much detail. But here’s the thing. I think a lot about clothing, fashion, and style. I regularly troll the clothes sections of thrift stores, sew and alter garments, read fashion industry blogs, remember people’s shoes before their names or faces, and covet-covet-covet clothing and shoes that I find exciting. It creeps me out a little (particularly since I’ve noticed this interest had expanded since I’ve started making a little more money)– but I’m still super into it.

As a result, Overdressed is rare nonfiction that didn’t bore me to sleep. It begins with an open discussion of excessive American consumerism (I too am part of it– I now, for example, have too many shirts to fit on my shirt shelf). Cline  then discusses American manufacturing, fast fashion (e.g. Forever 21, H&M), the tragedy of the clothing recycling industry, the growing industry and wage demands in China, and what some innovative people are doing today to subvert their lives from the whole mess.

Super interesting and not boring! Check it out!

Leave a Reply

